John is Head of Policy for FirstGroup plc’s UK Bus Division.  He leads initiatives on a variety of subjects including local authority partnerships, business opportunities, concessionary travel, vehicle technology, legal issues, European policy and legislation, ticketing schemes etc and has advised on the implementation of Bus Rapid Transit in the UK and USA.  John has acted as a representative of First, and of the UK bus industry, on a number of Governmental and industry committees.  He sits on the Executive of the Rural Services Partnership, the Traveline and Journey Solutions boards and was the 2016 President of the Confederation of Passenger Transport, the UK bus and coach trade association. He is the current President of the European Public Transport Operators association.